Sudden Downpour

Prompt: It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. Tell us what happens next!

The proprietor was a tall, heavy set man and there was something about him that made my inside squirm with fright. I blamed myself severely for getting myself into such situations, not knowing exactly what the situation is.

He came near and asked, “May I help you” .The man’s voice, did not match his demeanor. I was expecting a deep harsh voice and instead the man sounded soft and humble. My heart rate slowed a little. I looked around the shop and there were books for all kind of readers, a sofa and table in the corner looked rusty and unused.

I asked him if I could take a look around, explaining along the way that I had to stop because of the torrential rains. He was quite understanding. As I looked around, I felt his gaze following me. My suspicions aroused, with bile rising up in my throat. Suddenly, he said, “I have a basement with much more collection of  books, do you want to look around while you are still here, because I find none of the books up here seem to interest you much”

I jumped to a conclusion that my instincts were right and he was indeed a madman. I denied vehemently and planning my escape, and somehow all of a sudden I was there in the basement. How he did it, I still have no idea, And lo behold, there were huge shelves lined top to bottom with books, it was like walking into a paradise and not knowing where to start. There was couches and tables and comfortable bright lanterns and quite a posh outlook on the whole. I couldn’t help  but notice the start contrast between the basement and the floor above.

What made me even  more comfortable was that I could see a number of people bustling through the sections.

The shop had another entrance. I realized I came in through the rear one.

I sighed in relief and blamed myself again for imagining the worst of people. Realizing the rain stopped,i excused myself and left the shop making a mental note to come back again later.

Leave a Reply

