C is for Chutiya ?? 

‘Chutiya’ – In the past one month, i would have heard this word over a thousand times. No kidding there with the number; so much so that I have to literally pull myself out of that ZONE. Well, in all honesty i am A TAMILIAN and i do not know HINDI and after 3 months associated with a few people, i decided i am better of knowing only what i know. Very recently i learnt that ‘Chutiya’ is the hindi word for Vagina. And according to some answers in quora, it means a cunthead which literally means a fool? Offensive much ?

I may sound naive and ignorant here but i do not understand the attraction, if i may call it that, of men calling each other vagina in all their regional languages !

I want to know why being called a vagina is an expletive !?  Does it mean you are as good as a vagina? As strong as a vagina? Resilient, maybe? Or as wanted as a vagina? Now there are other expletives,  this fucker, that fucker, mother fucker, behen chod aka sister fucker again because people think its morally wrong ? Then GoT should have more haters and moral policing ! I am digressing, that’s a story for a different day !  As a good friend pointed out, there is ofcourse “fucking good/bad”, aren’t they expletives too?  Yes, I guess. In all probablity maybe it is a person’s comparison to their own coitus which is their benchmark in life. I definitely feel sad if that’s the case.

So about chutiyas, the feminist in me is much more offended because you compare balls, which presumably is extremely sensitive, as power; and vagina which has a lot more resilience, as an expletive. When someone is going to say you have the balls, I think thats when people should feel ashamed. No? I don’t know !! But what i did realise is the influence of patriarchy even when one is swearing !! Most of the words that are commonly used to swear somehow has the feminine gender involved. it sickens me to know that body parts especially that of women should be used as profanity. It is hypocritical of a heterosexual man / woman to speak that way. Maybe people do talk about male genitals/gender too as a swear word and I am ignorant about it and in this case, ignorance is bliss !

I have sworn more than my fair share and I did not feel bad until yesterday. The constant use of derogatory terms gives a very negative, unhealthy environment to be in and that toxicity affects you. It definitely affected me ! And this post is a vent for me. I did my bit of research to search for the etymology of these words, google was not a lot of help. But, I did find out that fuck  actually has a germanic origin. Chutiya was very hard to find, but I found something on pussy, which pretty much is used the same way as that of chutiya. Click on the link here . What i couldn’t find  or understand as to why these words are used as derogatory terms. Many have the same question but not a clear answer.

At 5’2″ I always wonder how the world looks for tall people; It will always, always baffle me. Likewise, men calling each other chutiyas aka vagina because they are friendly or because they are annoyed and degrading women by making it an expletive will remain a mystery to me.

P.S : To whomsoever reading this post, if you are used to using expletives extensively, think for a minute if everyone around you are comfortable to hearing all that from you and if you are okay when others use them on you !

We are all called cultured for a reason !

Leave a comment